Microservices, Apache Mesos



The idea behind microservices largely corresponds to the Unix philosophy (“Do One Thing and Do It Well”). translated: “Do one thing and do it well”). For many years we have been developing for our customers backend systems as microservices. Our services are usually characterized by the following features:

  • The services can be replaced easily.
  • A microservice should implement a bounded context in the sense of domain-driven design.
  • The focus is on the benefit for the user.
  • A microservice is developed by only one team. Conway’s law ensures that the architecture is also secured by organizational measures. is secured by organizational measures. Likewise, a team can be responsible for several technically related microservices.
  • Interfaces hide implementation details.
  • Microservices are isolated from other services.
  • Like all services, microservices must be secure.

The same Unix philosophy is behind Apache Mesos. This is an OpenSource project of the Apache Foundation. In contrast to container cluster management products such as Kubernetes or OpenShift, Mesos is a pure resource pure resource scheduler. It consists of a collection of software that combines physical resources such as CPU, Memory and Storage into a single pool. The physical resources are then assigned to Frameworks such as Marathon, Chronos, ElasticSearch, Kafka, Kubernetesor Docker-Compose für Mesos).

Our Services

For many years we have been offering various services around microservices and Apache Mesos:

  • Consulting, design and architecture
  • Cloud Native Software Development
  • Operating (Apache Mesos)
  • Framework development ( kafka, kubernetes for Mesos, mesos-compose)
  • Development of software extensions to support Mesos (e.g. Apache Airflow, Mesos DNS), Traefik)
  • Remote deployment on AWS including autoscaling. For more information please contact us.

With the discontinuation of DC/OS on the part of D2IQ, we have secured the sources of Mesos-DNS at the beginning of 2021 and continue to maintain these products under our own responsibility. products on our own responsibility. As a replacement for Marathon-LB we recommend Traefik. Apache Mesos itself has since been a pure community development, which among them has already appeared in several versions.

Microservices, Apache Mesos

11. February 2021 Andreas Peters

Der Gedanke hinter Microservices entspricht weitgehend dem der Unix-Philosophie („Do One Thing and Do It Well“, frei übersetzt: „Erledige nur eine Aufgabe und erledige sie gut“). Seit vielen Jahren entwickeln wir für unserer Kunden Backend Systeme als Microservices. Unsere Dienst zeichnen sich üblicherweise über folgenden Eigenschaften aus:

  • Die Services können einfach ersetzt werden.
  • Ein Microservice sollte einen Bounded Context im Sinne von Domain-driven Design implementieren.
  • Der Nutzen für den Benutzer steht im Mittelpunkt.
  • Ein Microservice wird nur von einem Team entwickelt. So sorgt das Gesetz von Conway dafür, dass die Architektur auch durch organisatorische Maßnahmen abgesichert wird. Ebenso kann ein Team für mehrere fachlich zusammenhängende Microservices verantwortlich sein.
  • Die Schnittstellen verstecken Implementierungsdetails.
  • Microservices werden gegenüber anderen Services isoliert.
  • Wie alle Services müssen auch Microservices sicher sein.

Die gleiche Unix-Philosophie steckt auch hinter Apache Mesos. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein OpenSource Projekt der Apache Foundation. Im Gegensatz zu Container Cluster Management Produkten wie Kubernetes oder OpenShift, ist Mesos ein reiner Ressourcen Scheduler. Es besteht aus einer Kollektion von Software welche physikalische Ressourcen wie CPU, Memory und Storage zu einem einzigen Pool zusammenstellt. Die physikalischen Ressourcen werden dann den Frameworks wie z.B. Marathon, Chronos, ElasticSearch, Kafka oder Kubernetes (uvm) zur Verfügung gestellt.

Unser Service

Seit vielen Jahren bieten wir verschiedenste Services rund um Apache Mesos an:

  • Beratung, Aufbau und Architektur
  • Operating
  • Framework Entwicklung (kafka, kubernetes)
  • Entwicklung von Software Erweiterungen zur Unterstützung von Mesos (z.B. Apache Airflow, Mesos DNS)
  • Remote Deployment auf AWS inkl Autoscaling. Für nähere Information nehmen Sie bitte mit uns Kontakt auf.

Mit der Abkündigung von DC/OS seitens D2IQ, haben wir Anfang 2021 die Sourcen von Mesos-DNS, Marathon-LoadBalancer und Marathon gesichert und pflegen diese Produkte in Eigenverantwortung weiter. Apache Mesos ist seitdem eine reine Community Entwicklung, welche darunter bereits in mehreren Versionen erschienen ist. Die jeweils neuste Version stellen wir auf unserem RPM Repository bereit.